Wearing the hats

In a bootstrapped microISV effort such as mine, one of the combined blessings/curses is the need for me to actually do everything. I know, there’s outsourcing and all that, but in my case, ‘bootstrapped’ means ‘moneyless’, so it’s me or no one. This is probably the biggest barrier to someone looking at starting a indiestartupmicroISV, but at the same time one of the liberating parts that keep it interesting once you’re there.

My natural bent is toward code; I consider myself a programmer above a designer, marketer, copywriter, train conductor, and so on. Luckily, perhaps, I have interest in all those areas, so my life hasn’t been a total waste as far as preparation. I’ve designed a few sites for friends (which puts me up there with happycog, I’d say), read things about marketing/adwords/SEO (thanks, Patrick), written… before, and helmed the #12 down from Richmond to Fairfax a time or two.

So I’m looking forward to gaining some practical skill in all those different areas. I’ve seen in me day job the perils of limiting yourself completely to one aspect or the other (“I Only Do Code, you have to go through marketing/management/meetings, then just come and tell me what it should look like”). That’s a great technique for work avoidance, but doesn’t help us who actually want to contribute in different areas.

So there you go, I guess my point boils down to: If you’re by yourself, you have to do everything. Wow.

Runimal! Yesterday, worked mainly on the challengee relationship between the Users and Challenges tables. Wearing the DB-guy hat, and the Rails-hat, neither of which fits me perfectly, yet. I think I just need to use has_and_belongs_to_many, even though I was pretty sure challengees would just belong_to_many, but that doesn’t exist without has_and. Which makes a certain sense.

But that was fun. Today, more work on challenges.

About this entry